Confuscius Says,

“A gentleman does not recommend people based on what they say; Or disreguard what is said based on the speaker.”

Analect of Confucius

This is a very analogous to one of my other favorite quotes from the Mishlei or The Book of Proverbs, “like clouds and wind without is he who boasts of gifts he does not give.”  Below is the book where I got the quote above from the analects.  It is in comic strip form in Chinese and English originally drawn by comics author Tsai Chih Chung and translated by Brian Bruya.  I personally like this book and I recommend anybody interested in texts translated from a writing system other than our Latin alphabet to please get the original parallel text.  Even though this is in the form of a comic strip I still find that it compares very well to other English translations, plus in addition the illustrations expound on the sayings better.  Also available are all of the classics in comic form, this was the only parallel text I could find and my search continues.  There is a website http://www.zhongwen.com that has all of the classics of Chinese literature in I believe Mandarin (Correct me if I’m wrong) and they break down the characters.  Excellent study tool for anyone who wants to get into learning Chinese characters.  

 

http://thoughtsontruth.com/Confucius.shtml 

Image

 

That is the book cover, my camera died on me and I used my web cam to take the picture, so it’s mirror reversed.

Leave a Reply

