Sold Coldblooded

So Coldblooded is a Web Design project that is part of the Raw Compound Universe on http://www.rawcompound.com.  I went around the South Florida area with my brand new cameras and took snaps and video of all the cold blooded creatures I can find.

Image

 

Above is the Logo/Banner for the Web Project.

Image

 

Above is a Brown Basilisk (Basiliscus vittatus) or better known as the “Jesus Christ Lizard” for their ability to run on the surface of water.  There is wildlife sanctuary close to where I live and there are so many of these creatures there.  These lizards are actually from Central America and like other species that are non native to Florida they arrived and populated due to the pet trade.  They look like little dinosaurs to me and I’m happy anytime I see one, or two.  I was lucky enough to get this close to it, also the fact that my camera had zoom contributed to the success of this shot.  I have more of these as I found several basilisks on the many days that I did my shooting.  

Image

 

Image

 

This guy is a Green Anole (Anolis carolinensis), people call them chameleons, even though they 

change color they are not chameleons.  I found this guy on a Sea Grape tree on South Beach, but down here you are likely to see these guys everywhere.

Image

Image

 

This guy is a Cuban or Knight Anole (Anolis equestris), I’ve heard people call them Fruit Lizards as well.  These guys are often easy to catch, but watch they bite!

I will be posting more next up Brown Anoles, Iguanas, Turtles, and Skinks.  Eventually I’ll run into an Alligator, which I don’t really look forward too!

Leave a Reply

